Taiwanese Journalism Professor Wins '2004 WIN Award'

Journalism professor Dr Ying-chun Hsieh of Taiwan's National Chengchi University has been awarded the 2004 WIN (Women in Nuclear) Award – in recognition of her "outstanding achievement in promoting the communication of science, including nuclear energy, with the general public using plain, easy-to-understand language, and for her strong and persistent support and advocate of nuclear power".

Presenting the award during a ceremony at the Taipower Building in Taipei on 1st October was WIN association global president Junko Ogawa, accompanied by three other delegates from WIN Japan.

A forum titled "Nuclear Power Issues and Public Education" followed – and was jointly conducted by WIN Taiwan, a branch of WIN Global, and the Regulations and Education Committee of the Chung-Hwa Nuclear Society.

Established in 1993, WIN Global is an international association of women and men working professionally in the fields of nuclear energy and radiation application, and who are willing to devote time to public information (see Insider No. 7, 3rd February 1993). The association has more than 2000 members in 60 countries. WIN Taiwan, headed by Jenny Lai of Taipower, and WIN Japan are two of the 26 national WIN groups under the umbrella of WIN Global.

Ms Ogawa, executive communicator with the Japan Atomic Power Company and founder/president of WIN Japan, was elected new WIN Global president during the 12th WIN Global annual meeting – held in Tokyo in May 2004. She succeeded Dr. Annick Carnino, who retired from the International Atomic Energy Agency as director for

nuclear safety more than one year ago. The two other past presidents of WIN Global are Agneta Rising, vice president of Vattenfall AB, Sweden, and Dr. Irene Aegerter, commissioner of the Swiss Federal Nuclear Safety Commission (KSA) (see Insider No. 30.2, 6th September 2000 and Insider No. 12.2, 2nd June 1999).

Source: WIN Taiwan / WIN Global Editor: Editor: Daniel MacIsaac